Q&A – Kevin Barry

Kevin Barry is a man of many things– Hilarity. Happiness. Height. But don’t be fooled by his vast wingspan and affable demeanor– underneath lies a man of mystery. Fortunately, our state-of-the-art questionnaire is proven to bust myths and solve mysteries! Read on to learn more about Automatic Improv’s own KevBear.

Kevin Barry from Automatic Improv

Name: Kevin Barry

Gender: XY

Age: XXX

Species: American

Hometown: North Canton, OH

What’s your nickname? KevBear. I’m not sure why. It’s like the old saying goes, “You can pick your friends and you can pick your nose, but you can’t pick your nickname.”

Favorite improv game? Dramatic Pause. It’s just like my life only there’s music playing during the awkward silences.

What’s your pre-show routine? I jump around and wiggle my arms. It calms the nerves.

What makes you laugh? Trying not to laugh.

What makes you cry? Yeah, right! Like I’m just going to give away all my weaknesses on the Internet.

What’s your theme song?  I’ve always been partial to this gem from the 1986 Transformers movie.

Kevin Barry Performs with Automatic Improv

What’s your motto?  “Celebrate Kevin!” — courtesy of Whittney Millsap

Who are your influences? Cartoons from the 80s, sitcoms from the 90s, and today’s best hits!

Describe yourself in 3 words: Hugs Not Drugs

Favorite fictional character? I’ve always been drawn to eccentric geniuses. Probably because I’m not one. Sherlock Holmes, Shikamaru Nara, MacGyver! I still carry duct tape with me just in case something needs emergency MacGyvering.

Where are you on the D&D alignment chart?  Lawful Neutral. Same as James Bond.

If you were a professional wrestler, what would your ring name be and why?  El Scorcho. I’ll bring home the turkey if you bring home the bacon.

What’s your biggest pet peeve?  Oblivious b-holes are the worst. I’m talking to you teenager texting in the movie theater, to you guy cutting me off in traffic, and to you lady blowing cigarette smoke at my face.

Are you a cat person or a dog person? Give me a cute pupster any day. My lungs aren’t compatible with cats.

Kevin Barry from Automatic Improv stuffs a rubber chicken into an envelope

What did you want to be when you grew up?  Toss up between comic book artist and inventor. Really anything to do with robots would have been great.

What’s your dream job now? To write for a TV show. Or really anything to do with robots.

Drug of choice? Improv!

What else? I make a damn good apple pie.

Yes, and...

