Q&A – Sarah Simmons Turner

This week’s Q&A features the lovely and talented Sarah Simmons Turner. In addition to being an amazing improviser, Sarah’s a real-life movie actor! Get the lowdown on Automatic Improv’s favorite ballsy lady, SST!

Sarah Simmons Turner from Automatic Improv

Name: Sarah Simmons Turner

Gender: Ballsy Lady

Age: 30

Species: Democrat

Hometown: Winston-Salem, NC — cigarettes, Krispy Kreme Donuts and all the Moravian cookies you can eat.

What’s your nickname?  These days it’s just SST.

Favorite improv game?  Definitely Serious Scene. I’m pretty positive that I hold the record for staying on-stage longer than any other Automatic cast member.

What’s your pre-show routine? For a typical Friday night show… High energy music from the time I get in the shower until I pull in the parking-lot. Usually Red Hot Chili Peppers, Kanye West or Drake.

Best suggestion you’ve ever received? Siamese Twins. I climbed inside Andy’s shirt and had an awesome scene with him & Jan. Andy had to trash the t-shirt; but the scene lives-on in all our minds forever.

What makes you laugh? Stoner comedies. Political satire. John Mangan. Cute babies.

What’s your theme song? Forever featuring Drake, Eminem, Lil Wayne & Kanye West.

What’s your motto?  “No day but today.” It’s from my favorite Musical RENT. I try my best to live in the moment, on-stage & off.

What’s your team?  Wake Forest – College Basketball. Appalachian State – College Football. Braves – Baseball. Falcons – Football. Hawks – NBA (plus any team with a Wake Forest grad gets my vote).

Sarah Simmons Turner from Automatic Improv celebrates America like a true patriot

Who are your influences? These people inspire me. Mary Tyler Moore. Lucille Ball. Julia Louis-Dreyfus. Sandra Bullock. Mike Meyers. Lena Dunham. Alan Ball. Jennifer Aniston. Susan Sarandon. Jane Fonda. Hilary Clinton. Gandhi.

Describe yourself in 3 words:  Ardent. Capable. Tenacious.

What’s your biggest pet peeve?  Line-cutters. This includes people that ride exit lanes & then try to cut over AND people that block intersections to the detriment of oncoming traffic. Wait your turn! What makes you so important?!

Which celebrity do you want to punch in the face?  No-brainer. Ann Coulter.

Sarah Simmons Turner supports Obama

Are you a cat person or a dog person?  Total cat-lady. I have my cat, Erskine and before him I grew-up with my Snowball. I just have a way with cats & I’m not ashamed to share my love. Not one bit. Cats are affectionate, beautiful, independent hunter & huntresses and a far superior companion in comparison to a dog.

If you could play any sitcom character, who would it be and why?  Elaine Benes from Seinfeld. Intelligent, assertive & one of the boys.

First concert?  The best first concert of all-time… Michael Jackson. Bad Tour; 1988.

What did you want to be when you grew up?  The first thing I ever wanted to be (when I was four) was a bus driver. However, all I ever really remember wanting to be is an Actor.

Drug of choice?  Mary Jane and I’m not talking about a lady.

Most visited website?  Honestly. Facebook. However other sites I frequent include: CNN, Mediate, Huffington Post, Fab.com, VICE.

What do you do when you’re not improvising?  I’m an Actor, so I’m always training, auditioning & shooting + holding down a part-time job with a fabulous floor, lighting & accessory vendor at Aesthetically Correct Design.

Yes, and...

