Q&A – Keith Hooker

We at Automatic Improv look up to Keith Hooker as a sort of father figure. That’s probably because he’s old enough to have sired the entire rest of the group. (We’re still waiting on the paternity test results.) And like any estranged father, we just don’t that much about him. Luckily, this little Q&A fills in all the blanks.

Keith Hooker Automatic Improv

Name: Keith Hooker

Gender: Male(ish)

Age: 52

Species: Nerdosapiens

Hometown: Orange Park, Florida

What’s your nickname? I’ve been trying to make “The Hook” happen forever, but no takers (so far!)

Favorite improv game? Lines of Dialog

What’s your pre-show routine?  Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms

What makes you laugh? Funny characters that surprise me

What makes you cry? Almost anything, I’m a big baby

What’s your theme song? “Boss of Me” by TMBG

What’s your motto? “Live free or don’t”

What’s your team? I’m not a huge sports guy but I grew up going to University of Florida football and graduated from UF so, when pressed, Gators! [makes chomping motion with arms]

Who are your influences? My parents first.  And I learn stuff from everyone I play with.  So if you see me stealing your bit, think of it as a tribute!  (you’re welcome)

Keith Hooker and Kelly Thomas from Automatic Improv perform as Hostile Takeover

Describe yourself in 3 words: Funky Fresh Fraud

Favorite fictional character? Jon Snow

If you were a professional wrestler, what would your ring name be and why? Obviously “The Hook”.  Let’s make this happen!  It’s not too late!

What’s your biggest pet peeve? So many, so very many.  Probably bad driving is the worst of them.

Are you a cat person or a dog person? Dogs, dogs and more dogs

If you could play any sitcom character, who would it be and why? Bob Newhart on either of his sitcoms.  If you need to ask why, we are not going to get along.

Keith Hooker Smoking A Cigar And Laughing

First concert? Kansas, way back in the day.  Fun fact: their opening band was Foghat, whose bass player and producer Nick Jameson would become one of my favorite improv partners many years later.

What did you want to be when you grew up?  I grew up during the space race so Astronaut all the way.

What’s your dream job now? Improvising Astronaut Film-maker.  The one-stop entertainment director for your Mars colony.

Drug of choice? Happy baby pictures.

Proudest moment? When my children impress me

What do you do when you’re not improvising? Try to get my wife to laugh while she tries to get me to laugh.

Yes, and...

