Q&A – John Mangan

John Mangan is the only Automatic Improv member that comes with his own Surgeon General’s Warning label. He’s a talented comedian, improviser, writer, and freestyle rapper. Get to know John and find out what it means to get Mangan’ed.

johnfortyoz

Name: John Mangan

Gender: Yes, please!

Age: 30

Species: Road-runnerus digestus

Hometown: Wilkes-Barre, PA

What’s your nickname?  My friends call me Juan…or Ms. Jackson, if you’re nasty.

Favorite improv game?  “Body Switch.” It’s an improv game from the
Salon du Shoguns’ canon, wherein Jan Lefrancois-Gijzen and I magically
switch bodies, Freaky Friday-style, and perform a scene based on YOUR
suggestions!

John Mangan of Salon du Shoguns and Automatic Improv is a boxers man.

What’s your pre-show routine I eat some chocolate, and drink a 5 Hour
Energy so that I’m totally wired. SURGEON GENERAL’S WARNING: John
Mangan’s pre-show routine causes wild mood swings, hyper-insomnia, space madness, and
may complicate pregnancy in humans.

Best suggestion you’ve ever received?  “Balls!” We get that suggestion
multiple times every show, probably because it’s the best. I don’t
know why we even accept non-testes related suggestions.

What makes you laugh “Tragedy is when I cut my finger. Comedy is when
you walk into an open sewer and die.” – Mel Brooks

What’s your theme song “Power” by Kanye West, because I’m a movie
trailer from 2011.

What’s your motto “The show doesn’t go on because it’s ready; it goes on
because it’s 11:30.” – Lorne Michaels

What’s your team? #TeamAniston. Angelina Jolie is a home-wrecking slut.*

(*Editor’s Note: This joke was written before Ms. Jolie courageously had a double mastectomy. However, that doesn’t change the fact that she did Jen dirty. #Rachel4Life)

Who are your influences?  Steve Martin, Bill Cosby, Jerry Seinfeld, and
David Letterman

Describe yourself in 3 words:  Bad at Counting, Fun!

Favorite fictional character If Omar Little from The Wire somehow had a
love child with Saul Goodman from Breaking Bad, that was raised by Tony
and Carmela Soprano, and grew up to be Tyrion Lannister, that would be my
favorite character. I also dig Spider-Man.

Where are you on the D&D alignment chart? Neutral Evil…but not as Neutral Evil as Switzerland. “Look, I don’t want to get involved. But, if you need a safe place to store your mountains of gold fillings, we’re offering some excellent interest rates right now.”

John Mangan dressed as a homelessman.

If you were a professional wrestler, what would your ring name be and
why?

My ring name would be “The Worst Person Ever.” My catchphrase would be,
“Is there any gluten in this? Because I can’t have gluten.”

What’s your biggest pet peeve? Being interrupted, but often that’s the only
way to get a word in edgewise.

Which celebrity do you want to punch in the face? All the Teen Moms

Are you a cat person or a dog person?  Dogs are probably more fun, but
cats are better at manipulating my emotions.

If you could play any sitcom character, who would it be and why?

Stefan Urquelle… because it would be funny if when Steve Urkel
transformed into the cooler version of himself, he also became white and
gained 200 pounds. By the way, I’m pretty sure Steve Urkel was doing stem-
cell research before that was even a thing.

First concert?  Boyz II Men in 1994. Montell Jordan was the opening act, and
he kicked off his hit “This Is How We Do It,” by singing “…the party’s here in
SCRAN-TON.” What a showman!

What did you want to be when you grew up?  I wanted to follow in the
footsteps of my idol, Shaquille O’Neal, and become a rapping genie.

What’s your dream job now Head of Accounts for Sterling Cooper Draper
Price.

Drug of choice Prilosec OTC, because why stop eating? Science!

Most visited website? Google. Here’s my Google search history from
today:

“Wile E. Coyote Latin Names”
“Janet Jackson Nasty Lyrics”
“Janet Jackson Nip Slip”
“Gluten Allergies Real?”
“Steve Urkel”
“Jaleel White Nip Slip”
“Westeros”

Proudest moment? Every time I’m not in a Facebook picture of people participating in
“The Color Run.” I don’t see color, but I am “racist.” (I mean, I don’t like foot races.)

What do you do when you’re not improvising?  Get money. To relax, I play
Nintendo wit’ Cease and Nino.

What does it mean to get Mangan’ed? First of all, it’s pronounced, “MANGAN‘ed.” (mAEng-ghun-d) If you’ve been Mangan’ed, you’ve just been beaten to the punch, chump!

Yes, and...

