Q&A – Lauren Rosie

Lauren Rosie is one of the newest members of Automatic Improv! This means that while we know her and love her, we’re still learning new things about her each and every day. Fortunately, we have in our possession a hard-hitting questionnaire that can reveal everything you need to know about a person!

Lauren Rosie Automatic Improv

Name: Lauren Rosie

Gender: Female. If it’s not obvious, someone please set up an intervention for my on-stage “dude voice”… which I may or may not use in casual conversation.

Age: 25

Hometown: Charlotte, NC or as I like to say… “North Carolina, c’mon and raise up, take yo’ shirt off, spin it round yo’ head like a helicopter”. No? Okay. I’m done.

What’s your nickname? Rosie

Favorite improv game? Eeek the pressure! I always enjoy the musical games, “Orchestrated Song”, “Hoe Down”… ironically, “Sounds Like a Song” still intimidates me.

I also really like the gimmick games, like “Eulogy” and “Interrogation”. I like when the audience knows something that the improviser doesn’t. It’s a fun dynamic.

What’s your pre-show routine? Red Bull. Lots of Red Bull. Plus warm-up games with the crew. Hot Spot is my jam!

What makes you cry? Boys. They suck. No offense to our male readers. Female readers: am I right or am I right?

What’s your theme song? “There’s Always Someone Cooler Than You” by Ben Folds. It’s a great mantra for life. Like hey, you’re pretty great at a lot of things, but there’s always going to be someone cooler, smarter, prettier than you. Just be happy and content with who you are and just you.

Lauren Rosie with Pedi Cab

What’s your team? I don’t really have one. I like the Bravos though. I even named my dog Heyward after that J-Hey Kid.

Who are your influences? Tina Fey, Melissa McCarthy, Lorne Michaels

Where are you on the D&D alignment chart? I feel cooler not knowing what this is…

Which celebrity do you want to punch in the face? Kanye West. No explanation needed.

Are you a cat person or a dog person? Is this a real question? See the below photo of Heyward and Zoey.

Lauren Rosie Loves Dogs

If you could play any sitcom character, who would it be and why? Penny from Happy Endings. She’s a delightful whack-job. I can relate.

First concert? Proud to admit it: Spice Girls summer of 1998 with Tom and Janet Rosie. I. Was. The. Coolest.

What did you want to be when you grew up? My parents will go on record that the first time I ever said what I wanted to be, was a toll booth operator.

What’s your dream job now? Would KILL to be a cast member for SNL. It may sound cliché, but this would be the greatest job ever.

Drug of choice? Sleep.

What do you do when you’re not improvising? I’m an environmental insurance broker. It sounds complicated. It is.

Yes, and...

