Being Funny

BY JAN LEFRANCOIS-GIJZEN

Does an improv scene have to be funny? Does it have to make people laugh?

The harder I try to be funny, the less likely I am to make somebody laugh. Maybe I’m not a very funny person, I don’t know. For the most part, I’ve learned to stop trying to make people laugh while I improvise.

My goal, instead, is to provide the audience a unique experience.

I have no idea how to do that, either.

My only recommendations are to stop caring about making people this:

This is an adorable laughing baby.

LOL.

And don’t be afraid of making them this:

Sad crying Native American man.

Stoic cry.

 

Don’t panic if neither happens.

It’s just improv.

One thought on “Being Funny

Yes, and...

